VILLAGE OF MILLPORT, NY

THE BEST LITTLE VILLAGE IN THE WHOLE WORLD.

Millport, NY - 4246 Main Street Millport, NY 14864 - 607-739-0703                     

LOOKING FOR NEW IDEAS!!!!!!    

 

 

Some History & Facts Of "OUR" Village:                     

  » The Railroad came and went as well as the Trolley through the Village and to Watkins Glen. With the coming of the Trucking business, Route 14 has become the method of today's transportation.

[A Celebration of Millport's History 1798 - 1999 and  "A Look into Millport's Past and Present" ,were used as references] .

» The Village was Incorporaated in 1923.

» Population as of 2000 Census 292.

» We have a very rich history from the 1700's during the Revolutionary War and the 1800's. 

» We were established in 1825 by James Gifford, he built a dwellig-house and a tannery, our name at first was Milvale. The village name was changed to Millport in 1829 by a resolution passed at a meeting held for the celebration of the passage of the act authorizing the construction of the Chemung Canal. We were a waypoint for the Chemung Canal in the mid 1800's and we were as big if not bigger than Elmira, NY.

» Millport, Pine Valley and the rest of the Town of Veteran had 36 saw mills around 1829, in addition to the saw mills the village did a brisk business in building canal boats.

» In 1857 a devastating flood washed away canal locks and suspended canal travel for a long time; it finally closed in 1878. Today only a bit of ditch or

 

» We are located on beautiful Catherine Creek and have some of the best Trout fishing in the world.

» We are a Trailhead for the Catherine Valley  Trail.

» We have had 3 HUD Programs.

» We have our own Water Supply System built in the 1970's.

MAPS